ATV Permits

Emergency Notification System

Under Construction

ready.gov





CCW Provider Information

Cass County Only

All firearms safety instructors that wish to teach CCW classes to Cass County, Missouri residents must submit the following information:

  • Valid State issued ID
  • A copy of your Instructor Credentials issued by:
    • The National Rifle Association; or
    • a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course offered by a local, state or federal governmental agency; or
    • a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course approved by the department of public safety; or
    • completed a firearms safety instructor course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
    • is a certified police officer firearms safety instructor

The instructor will be approved to teach classes only in Cass County, Missouri.

Your approved status will expire on the same date that your credentials expire.

Statewide Database

Any qualified firearms safety instructor may choose to submit his/her information to the Statewide Database of qualified instructors. In order to do so, you must be approved by the Sheriff's Office of the county in which you reside and pay an ANNUAL registration fee of $10 (cash only, extact bills). The following annual instruction paperwork is due in January of each year:

  • Valid State issued ID
  • $10 Cash fee, exact bills (our machine does NOT make change)
  • A copy of your Instructor Credentials issued by:
    • The National Rifle Association; or
    • a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course offered by a local, state or federal governmental agency; or
    • a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course approved by the department of public safety; or
    • completed a firearms safety instructor course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
    • is a certified police officer firearms safety instructor
  • Notarized copy of Course Outline/Lesson Plan
    (May be notarized at our office / Do NOT sign before arriving at CCSO)

When approved for entry into the MOSMART Database, the instructor will then be qualified to teach in every county in the State of Missouri.

Approval status will expire on December 31st of each year.

*If your credentials expire mid-year, updated information must be resubmitted from your expiration date to December 31st of that year and again in January of each year.

For additional information regarding RSMo 571.111 - Firearms training requirements - safety instructor requirements - penalty for violations, click HERE.

Property of the Cass County Sheriff's Office
2501 West Mechanic Street, Suite 100, Harrisonville, MO 64701
Phone (816) 380-5200 - FAX (816) 380-8334
Copyright © 2020 - All rights reserved - Webmaster Sgt. Claibourn
Submit information or feedback to us by clicking HERE