Skip to main content


NAMI Awards Banquet

Public Information Officer:
November 5th, 2008
Cpl. Kevin Tieman,
Cass County Sheriff’s Office
816-380-8615 (Office)
816-738-4394 (Cell)

Kansas City, MO – The National Alliance of Mental Illness of Greater Kansas City (NAMI-KC) Board of Directors will holds its 20th Annual Membership Meeting, Awards Ceremony and the 8th Annual Crisis Intervention Teams (CIT) Banquet in Kansas City on November 13, 2008. This year law enforcement officers from 10 metro agencies, volunteers, and other professionals will be recognized for their contributions to the community.

NAMI is a grass roots, self-help advocacy organization for families with serious mental illness. Family members, friends or other caregivers meet together for mutual support and comfort. NAMI is 501-C3 which offers many free services to the community such as advocacy for mentally ill citizens and educational programs for all members of the community.

The Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony will be held at the Intrigue Park Place Hotel at I-435 and Front Street in Kansas City, Missouri. Social hour will begin at 6:00 p.m. with the dinner and awards program to start at 6:45 p.m.

Below is a list of the award recipients:

NAMI-KC Community Awards and
CIT Awards Presentations will follow:

NAMI-KC Community Awards:

Volunteer of the Year Award
Sgt. Tim and Janet Smith, Family Members
Suicide Awareness Award
DeLaSalle High School
Quality of Service Professional Award
Richard Odiam, Tri County Mental Health & Michael Barnett, Truman Behavioral Health
Media Award
Brent Miller and Linda Thompson, Lee’s Summit Journal
Philanthropic Award
The REACH Foundation
Richard P. Nadeau Lifetime Achievement Award for Long-term Advocacy for Mental Health and Community Change
Claire McCaskill

Crisis Intervention Teams Award:

Blue Springs Police Department
Officers Cody Smith, Greg Breshears and Kelly Caster
Cass County Sheriff’s Office
Corporal Joshua Becker-Schutte
Grandview Police Department
Amanda Kearnes
Harrisonville Police Department
Sgt. Sean Murray
Jackson County Detention Center
Sgt. Cedric Williams
Kansas City Police Department
Sgt Larry White, Officer William B. Baker, Officer Ryan Kaighen, Officer JD Pettey, Officer Linda Walker
Municipal Correctional Institution
Patrick Atkins
Lee’s Summit Police Department
Officer Michael Isberg
Oak Grove Police Department
Officer Daniel Ashley and Nancy Burkhart
Peculiar Police Department
Officer Michael Mclaughlin
NAMI-KC CIT Officer of the Year
will be announced the evening of the event
NAMI-KC CIT Coordinator of the Year
will be announced the evening of the event

For reservations or more information about NAMI/KC Call (816) 931-0030.

Leave a Reply